Brightling, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Brightling, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brightling, Sussex
Brightling St Thomas a becket East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Netherfield
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Battle PLU
Registration District Battle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1596
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hastings
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRIGHTLING (St. Thomas à Becket), a parish, in the union of Battle, partly in the hundred of Henhurst, but chiefly in that of Netherfield, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 4 miles (N. W.) from Battle.[1]

Brightling St Thomas a Becket is an Ancient Parish in East Sussex.

Church history Brightling St Thomas a Becket

The Parish Church of St Thomas a Becket has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Brightling Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

The graveyard contains the 25 feet high pyramid tomb of local landowner John 'Mad Jack' Fuller, (1757–1834) MP for Sussex whose eccentric folly building even caused the local pub to be removed to allow for his pyramid. See also Brightling Wikipedia

Jack Fuller's Pyramid Brightling East Sussex.jpg

The mausoleum pyramid has been designated a Grade II* listed mausoleum British listed monument

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Battle Registration District from 1837.

Certificates may be obtained from

East Sussex County Council

The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG

Phone: 01323 464780

Fax: 01323 431386

Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Brightling, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Brightling, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1560-1894


IGI 1560-1880
SOPC Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Brightling

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464158.

Poor Law Unions

Battle Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 369-375. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 August 2014, at 21:46.
  • This page has been accessed 3,147 times.