Brighton St John the Evangelist, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Brighton St John, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brighton St John the Evangelist, Sussex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brighton
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Brighton PLU
Registration District Brighton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1880
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRIGHTON (St. Nicholas), a sea-port, borough, market-town, and parish, in the hundred of Whalesbone, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 30 miles (E.) from Chichester, and 52 (S.) from London; There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, the Society of Friends, the Connexion of the Countess of Huntingdon, Huntingtonians, Scottish Seceders, Wesleyans, and others; also Bethel chapel, belonging to the Mariners' Friend Society; a Roman Catholic chapel, and a synagogue. The church of St. John the Evangelist, Carlton-Hill, contains 1225 sittings, of which 625 are free: the living is a perpetual curacy. [1]


Brighton St John the Evangelist is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Sussex, created in 1840 from Brighton St Nicholas, Sussex Ancient Parish

A history of the church Brighton St John the Evangelist Palmeira Square

The church of St John the Evangelist Preston has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building and dates from 1901-1902

Brighton Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also:

An introduction to Brighton's church history Brighton churches and Brighton and Hove Wikipedia A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 369-375. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Brighton registration distict

Certificates can be ordered from Brighton & Hove The Register Office Brighton Town Hall Bartholomew Square Brighton BN1 1JA

Phone01273 292016

Fax 01273 292019

Email:register.office@brighton hove.gov.uk

Church records

West Sussex Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts 1880

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Brighton St John the Evangelist

Suggars, Leslie, and Leeson, Francis. Military Marriages in Brighton in Napoleonic Times. List of Military marriages arranged by Unit (grooms only). Entries are in the Brighton Marriage Register at the County Record Office or Society of Genealogists, London. The article covers the years 1754-1837. Article to be found in magazine Sussex Family Historian, vol.1, #4, March 1974, pages 88-92, and page 96. Family History Library Ref. 942.52 Bsu

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464165.

Genealogy

Poor Law Unions

Brighton Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Brighton Residents - the 1662 Hearth Tax. A list of householders along with the number of hearths in their houses. More detail is available in the original record. Article to be found in Sussex Family Historian, vol.7, Sept. 1974 pages 213-216, Family History Library Ref. 942.25 B2su

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 369-375. Date accessed: 20 September 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 August 2014, at 21:52.
  • This page has been accessed 1,908 times.