Brightside, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Brightside
Brightside, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Strafforth and Tickhill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Sheffield PLU
Registration District Sheffield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Guide to Brightside, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapel History

BRIGHTSIDE, a village, a chapelry, a township, and a sub district in Sheffield parish, W. R. Yorkshire. The village stands adjacent to the Sheffield and Rotherham railway 2¼ miles NE of Sheffield; and has a station on the railway, and a post office under Rotherham. The chapelry was constituted in 1854. Pop., 10,101. Houses, 2,104. a village, There are two Methodist chapels.[1]

ALSO

BRIGHTSIDE-BIERLOW, a township, in the parish and union of Sheffield, N. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 3 miles (N. E.) from Sheffield; containing 10,089 inhabitants. There are several places of worship for dissenters.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Brightside exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
BRIGHTSIDE CHAPELRY (1786) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1869-1893 1869-1893
FS 1869-1890

1786-1860

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Sheffield to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the SHEFFIELD PARISH page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464277.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870-72)Adapted 18 December 2013
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 375-379. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 December 2013.
  3. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' FindMyPast, accessed 15 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 17:27.
  • This page has been accessed 2,474 times.