Brilley, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png HerefordshireGotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Brilley, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brilley, Herefordshire
Downloaded8395754183606845823 Brilley St+Mary Herefordshire.jpg
Downloaded8395754183606845823 Brilley St+Mary Herefordshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Huntington
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Kington PLU
Registration District Presteigne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1581; For more records see Kington
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Weobley
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRILLEY (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union of Kington, the hundred of Huntingdon, and the county of Hereford, 6¼ miles (N. E. by N.) from Hay. [1]

Brilley St Mary was formed as a chapelry in Kington, Herefordshire Ancient Parish in the 12th century with 1300 rebuilding and subsequent restorations in 1862 and 1890. The parish boundary forms part of the boundary with Wales.

Brilley is a village and civil parish on the Welsh border in Herefordshire see [1]

A map of the parish boundary is available at [2]

3)The Parish church of St Mary has been designated as a grade II* listed building [3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

The parish was within Presteigne registration district

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

The Diocesan Record Office for Herefordshire has deposited Parish registers reference AB 44 1580/1581 to 1923 reference BK 85 years 1860-1994  and Bishop's transcripts 1660-1851

Herefordshire Archive Service
Herefordshire Record Office
Harold Street
Hereford
HR1 2QX

Office Tel No: +44 (0)1432 260750
Email: archives@herefordshire.gov.uk

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Brilley

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288817.

See Herefordshire Census

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition, FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that genenerally charge for subscriptions.

Poor Law Unions

Kington Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Brilley

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 375-379. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 15:21.
  • This page has been accessed 1,881 times.