Brindle, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Brindle, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brindle, Lancashire
St James' Church, Brindle lancashire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leyland
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Chorley PLU
Registration District Chorley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1621
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Blackburn
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRINDLE (St James), a parish, in the union of Chorley, hundred of Leyland, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 4¾ miles north by east of Chorley. It is in the centre of a triangle between Preston, Blackburn, and Chorley. There is a Roman Catholic chapel here, dedicated to St. Joseph, having been rerected in the year 1786. [1]

The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Brindle Parish registers have been extensively indexed and posted online for searching at the following three web sites and range of years:

AC =Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP =FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG =FreeReg
FS =FamilySearch.org
JOIN =Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LBMD =LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC=Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
BRINDLE ST JAMES PARISH (1558) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1558-1875 1558-1880 None
LOPC  1714-1938 1714-1948 1714-1861
AC 1558-1714 1558-1714  1558-1714
FMP
1558-1837
JOIN
1813-1837


Original Records

Original parish registers are housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Bow Lane, Preston PR1 2RE, UK. In addition, they have also been completely microfilmed from 1558-1948 by FamilySearch and film copies are available for ordering to any one its satellite FamilySearch centers worldwide, on microfilm numbers 1849648 Items 6 - 19;  093658 and 93659 Items 1 - 8

Catholic

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306911.


Poor Law Unions

Chorley Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Brindle on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed: 09 September 2013.]
  2. 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 20:38.
  • This page has been accessed 10,155 times.