Brinkburn Chapelry, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Brinkburn Chapelry, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brinkburn Chapelry, Northumberland
Brinkburn Priory and Manor House Northumberland.jpg
Brinkburn Priory and Manor House Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coquetdale; Morpeth
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Rothbury PLU
Registration District Rothbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1656; For more records see Felton and also Longframlington
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alnwick
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRINKBURN, LOW WARD, a township, in the parochial chapelry of Long Framlington, union of Rothbury, E. division of Coquetdale ward, N. division of Northumberland.[1]

Additional information: BRINKBURN was a parochial chapelry including Brinkburn High Ward, Brinkburn Low Ward, and Brinkburn South Side.es. Brinkburn was formed from the parochial chapelry of Longframlington, Northumberland. Other places in the parish include: Brinkburn High Ward, Brinkburn Highward, Brinkburn Southside, Brinkburn Lowward, Brinkburn South Side, and Brinkburn Low Ward.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Prior to 1841 it is advisable to search the Longframlington, Northumberland registers and parish register transcripts.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/168 Date: March 1765-1841 Contents: Including transcripts from Brinkburn, March 1765-1835  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The Long Framlington Transcripts are awaiting loading by engineers in future.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Brinkburn Priory, St Peter and St Paul: Records of baptisms 1865-1976, marriages 1867-1941 and burials 1874-1960 are available at [Northumberland Collections Service]. Brinkburn Parish is not included on the IGI or in Boyd's Marriage Index. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Brinkburn (microfiche TN78) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438890.

Poor Law Unions

Rothbury Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 06 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,616 times.