Brinton, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Brinton, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brinton, Norfolk
St Andrew, Brinton, Norfolk.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Holt
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Brinton PLU
Registration District Erpingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1547
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Holt
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRINTON (St. Andrew), a parish, in the hundred of Holt, W. division of Norfolk, 2½ miles (W. S. W.) from Holt. [1] Brinton St Andrew is an Ancient parish in the Holt deanery of the diocese of Norwich.

In 1759 the Brinton and Thornage parishes were consolidated.[2]

In the early 1800s a milestone was erected stating the mileage to Holt and Dereham. This has since been restored and can be seen today on on the B1110 Holt to Dereham road where it is milestone 14 of 15.[3]

In 1838 the Wesleyan Chapel was built.[4]

In 1845 Lord Hastings was lord of the manor, but John Brereton, Esq. had large land holdings in Brinton.[5]

By 1883 the Melton Constable Railway Station was within 1 mile of Brinton. [6] Presently (2013) their is no public bus service to Brinton. The nearest bus stop being a pleasant walk to Sharrington.

The village of Brinton and some of its houses were once used as a backdrop for the BBC television series Dangerfield.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Erpingham 1837- 1869
  • Walsingham 1869- 1938
  • Fakenham 1939-1974

Church records

Brinton, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[9]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[10]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[11]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[12]
Brinton, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1548-1880
1548-1843
1549-1812
FS ATs 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1547-1812 Undefined 1547-1901 Undefined 1547-1812
JOIN
1813-1837

TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 504

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438862.




Poor Law Unions

Created in 1782, the Brinton Gilbert Union (also called Brinton Incorportation)[13] survived until 1869 when it went was incorporated into Walsingham

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel, A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 379-389. Date accessed: 12 September 2013.
  2. "Consolidation of Church 1759" Norfolk: Thornage and Brinton, GENUKI - UK & Ireland Genealogy, http://www.origins.org.uk/genuki/NFK/places/b/brinton/church_cons.shtml, which credits the Norfolk transcribers for FreeREG for locating the documentation of the fact.
  3. Adam Lazzari, "Celebration for village as milestone is restored", 11 Feb 2014, EDP24, http://www.edp24.co.uk/news/celebration_for_village_as_milestone_is_restored_1_3311124, accessed 18 Feb 2014.
  4. Juanita Hadwin, transcriber, "William White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk 1883", GENUKI - UK & Ireland Genealogy, http://www.origins.org.uk/genuki/NFK/places/b/brinton/white1883.shtml
  5. Pat Newby, transcriber, "William White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk 1845", GENUKI - UK & Ireland Genealogy, http://www.origins.org.uk/genuki/NFK/places/b/brinton/white1845.shtml.
  6. Juanita Hadwin, transcriber, "William White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk 1883", GENUKI - UK & Ireland Genealogy, http://www.origins.org.uk/genuki/NFK/places/b/brinton/white1883.shtml
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  8. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  9. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  10. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  11. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  12. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 11 April 2014.
  13. Mike Bristown, "Norfolk Poor Law Brinton Gilbert Union 1786-1869", GENUKI, http://www.origins.org.uk/genuki/NFK/norfolk/poor/pre1834/brinton/

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:33.
  • This page has been accessed 3,397 times.