Bristol Christ Church with St Ewen, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Bristol Christ Church with St Ewen, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bristol Christ Church with St Ewen, Gloucestershire
Christ Church with St Ewen Bristol .jpg
Christ Church with St Ewen Bristol
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Bristol Incorporation PLU
Registration District Bristol
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Bristol St Ewen beginning 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670; Separate records exist for Bristol St Ewen beginning 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Christ Church with St Ewen (grid reference ST588730) is a Church of England parish church in Broad Street, Bristol, England.

It was built between 1786 and 1791, designed by William Paty and built by his relatives Thomas Paty and Sons, replacing a medieval one.[1] The entrance and refurbished interior are by Henry Williams in 1883. The building was restored in 1973.

On the tower quarter-boy figures strike the quarter hours on the Automaton clock.

It has been designated by English Heritage as a grade II* listed building.[2][1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.






Church records

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) (£)[3]
BRISTOL CHRIST CHURCH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1654-1886 1655-1906
BOYD 1671-1811
BRISTOL ST EWEN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1661-1792

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288782.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christ_Church_with_St_Ewen
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:54.
  • This page has been accessed 964 times.