Bristol St Augustine, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Bristol St Augustine, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bristol St Augustine, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Bristol Incorporation PLU
Registration District Bristol
Records begin
Parish registers: 1577
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St. Augustine's Church was a Church of England church located on Whitchurch Lane in Whitchurch, Bristol.

Construction The church was built in 1972 to cater for the expansion of Whitchurch Parish in the suburb of south Bristol, England, UK.

Closure St Augustine Church was dogged with structural problems since first built. Rainwater had been leaking through the roof since theft of the valuable lead in the final few months. The bell tower had previously been removed because it was unstable. The church was deemed unsafe in 2007 and closed.[1]

Re-build Plans to demolish the building and build a new church have not come to fruition since permission was granted in 2004. Parishioners hoped to raise up to £50,000 towards the £350,000 cost of the new church. Following concerns about the lack of progress, Canon Nicholas Hays was appointed as caretaker minister. Services are currently held in Bridge Farm School[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) (£)[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
BRISTOL ST AUGUSTINE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1853-1927 1754-1906
BOYD 1663-1812
PALL
1813-1818

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288782.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Augustine%27s_Church,_Whitchurch,_Bristol
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:54.
  • This page has been accessed 2,976 times.