Bristol St Werburgh, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Bristol St Werburgh, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bristol St Werburgh, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Bristol Incorporation PLU
Registration District Bristol
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1677
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Werburgh's Church, Bristol, is a former church and now a climbing centre in the St Werburghs area of central north-east Bristol, England.

The area became known as St Werburghs when the church was relocated from Corn Street to Mina Road, and substantially rebuilt, in 1879. It is now a Climbing Centre run by Undercover Rock, where it houses a balcony cafe, rock walls and surrounding grounds. It has been designated by English Heritage as a grade II* listed building.[1][1]


St Paul's Parish is at the heart of inner city Bristol and St Agnes Church is at the heart of St Paul's Parish. Confusing isn't it? We continue to call ourselves St Paul's Parish because that is the name of the Bristol 'area' that we predominantly serve. Four of the original five churches are left. St Simon's is used by the Greek Orthodox Community, St Werburgh's is a climbing centre and St Paul's is a circus school. St Agnes is the church we worship in. It is part church, part parish hall and part offices used by community groups. It is a place of sanctuary in an increasingly challenging world.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) (£)[3]
BRISTOL ST THOMAS PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1653-1810

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288784.

Poor Law Unions

Bristol Poor Law Unions,England

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2014, at 14:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,918 times.