Bristol Temple, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Parishes Gotoarrow.png

Guide to Bristol Temple, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Bristol Temple, Somerset
Temple Church Bristol .jpg
Temple Church Bristol
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bristol PLU
Registration District Bristol
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1671
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol in the Deanery of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRISTOL, a city and county of itself, and a considerable port, is situated near the mouth of the Bristol Channel, and between the counties of Gloucester and Somerset, into both of which the town extends. The city comprised within its ancient limits many parishes including TEMPLE parish or HOLY CROSS.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[3]
BRISTOL TEMPLE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1671-1902 None 1819-1906 None None None
BOYD None None 1671-1812 None None None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474594.

Poor Law Unions

Bristol Poor Law Unions,England

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/GLS/Bristol/Temple/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 14 September 2013.
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:35.
  • This page has been accessed 2,726 times.