British Web SitesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Genealogical Websites are beneficial to those searching British or Irish ancestors. The following is a sampling that offers researchers information and additional links.

Contents

General

  • The Genealogy of the United Kingdom and Ireland (GenUKI) web site links to a number of other sites where you can learn about a variety of British and Irish genealogical records. The site is arranged by country, county, and topic.
  • The Ancestry site offers a vast collection that includes census records.

England

Main article: England Websites


  • The National Archives holds material that relates to both England and Wales. The site includes an on-line catalogue, information leaflets, and an education centre.
  • The General Register Office site contains a link to on-line ordering of civil birth, marriage, and death certificates for England and Wales.
  • The Federation of Family History Societies is an umbrella group which oversees the activities of many English family history societies. Contact information is given for the individual societies, including links to their Websites. The Federation also offers for sale many economically-priced research booklets.
  • Cyndi's List web site contains links to many English research sites. Links are suggested by individual researchers.

Ireland

Main article: Ireland Websites


  • The Irish Family History Foundation is the coordinating body for a network of government approved genealogical research centres in the Republic of Ireland (Eire) and in Northern Ireland, which have computerized millions of Irish names in genealogical records.
  • The National Archives of Ireland contains information about useful Irish genealogical sources.
  • The Public Record Office of Northern Ireland has several family and local history articles, and some on-line indexes.
  • The National Library of Ireland holds estate records, valuation records, trade directories, and other records that are useful in finding Irish ancestors.
  • Cyndi's List web site contains links to many Irish research sites. Links are suggested by individual researchers.

Isle of Man

Main article: Isle of Man Websites


Scotland

Main article: Scotland Websites


  • Scotland’s People provides access to on-line indexes and digital images for many genealogical records, such as census, church and civil registration records.
  • The National Archives of Scotland gives information about the records of interest to genealogists and links to other sites that discuss Scottish genealogical information.
  • The National Library of Scotland collects print and non-print materials for Scotland. Of interest to family historians are the special collections of books and pamphlets, and a digital library.
  • The Scottish Association of Family History Societies promotes and encourages the study of Scottish family history, and provides a forum for the exchange, collection and distribution of information among members. A list of publications is included.
  • Cyndi's List web site contains links to many Scottish research sites. Links are suggested by individual researchers.

Wales

Main article: Wales Websites


  • The National Library of Wales is the premier archive for Welsh family history records. A list of genealogical records in the National Library is discussed in several on-line guides. A section on this site provides information for those preparing to visit their library.
  • The National Archives holds material that relates to both Wales and England. The site includes an on-line catalogue, information leaflets, and an education centre.
  • The General Register Office contains a link to on-line ordering of civil birth, marriage, and death certificates for both Wales and England.
  • The Association of Family History Societies of Wales promotes the study of family history and genealogy in Wales.
  • Cyndi's List site contains links to many Welsh research sites. Links are suggested by individual researchers.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:00.
  • This page has been accessed 1,521 times.