Broadstairs, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png& KentGotoarrow.pngKent Parishes

Guide to Broadstairs, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Broadstairs, Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ringslow or Isle of Thanet
County Kent
Poor Law Union Thanet PLU
Registration District Thanet
Records begin
Parish registers: 1582
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Westbere
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BROADSTAIRS, a small sea-port and  hamlet, in the parish of St. Peter, union of Thanet, hundred of Ringslow, or Isle of Thanet, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 2 miles (N. E. by N.) from Ramsgate, 4 (S. E. by S.) from Margate, and 75 (E.) from London;. There are places of worship for Anabaptists and Wesleyans.[1]


Broadstairs is a coastal town on the Isle of Thanet in Thanet district of Kent which is part of the civil parish of Broadstairs and St Peter's. For a history of the town see Broadstairs Wikipedia
Broadstairs was formed as an Ecclesiastical parish in 1850 from St Peter in Thanet, Kent Ancient Parish.

(Refer to the Ancient Parish for details of the Broadstairs St Peter Ancient church)

Broadstairs Holy Trinity church has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building See Kent Churches website

Other places of worship include:

Old St Mary's Chapel, Albion Street, dates from the ancient shrine of Our Lady of Bradstow and was restored in1601 when it was adapted for Protestant worship. It has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building  see Shrine of Our Lady Bradstowe Wikipedia

Broadstairs Methodist Church

Broadstairs Baptist Church

Kingdom Hall of Jehovah's Witnesses, Stone Road, Broadstairs, which dates from 1830 has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

The Roman Catholic Church of our Lady Star of the Sea, Broadstairs Road, has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Resources

Civil Registration

Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Broadstairs, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3]
Broadstairs, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1850-1912 1850-1912 1917-1928 1917-1928

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Microfilm

FHL Collection

Census records

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Thanet Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 389-392. Date accessed: 8 July 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2014, at 13:40.
  • This page has been accessed 4,565 times.