Broadwater, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Broadwater, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Broadwater, Sussex
Broadwater St Mary, West Sussex.jpg
Broadwater St Mary, West Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brightford
County Sussex
Poor Law Union East Preston PLU
Registration District Worthing
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Storrington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BROADWATER (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Preston (under Gilbert's act), hundred of Brightford, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex; containing, with the town of Worthing.  There are two churches at Worthing, forming separate incumbencies. In the north of the parish is an eminence called Cissbury Hill.[1] Broadwater St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the county of Sussex. Other places in the parish include: Worthing.

Church History Worthing St Mary Broadwater and Worthing Churches history

See also:

Sussex Online Parish Clerks

Broadwater West Sussex Wikipedia

A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 389-392. here

See Worthing, Sussex for subsequent parish formations for the town from this parish.

See Broadwater Burial Index (http://www.worthing.gov.uk/dev/burialsearch/default.asp) Broadwater parish is a part of the Borough of Worthing West Sussex.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Worthing registration district
which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall<br>Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Broadwater, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
BROADWATER PARISH (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1558-1580, 1600-1729, 1747-1867 (gaps)
1571-1572, 1591-1592, 1601-1846 (gaps)

FREG 1558-1812 bgcolor="#ffcccc" 1571-1837 bgcolor="#ccffcc" bgcolor="#ccffff" bgcolor="#ccffff"
IGI 1847-1867 1846-1867
SOPC Undefined
Undefined

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1558-1974 Marr 1558-1974 Bur 1558-1562, 1601-1895

Bishop's Transcripts 1571-1936
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Broadwater

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

East Preston Poor Law Union, Sussex

Sutton (East Preston) Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 389-392. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:29.
  • This page has been accessed 3,718 times.