Brockhampton (near Ross), HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Brockhampton, Herefordshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Brockhampton (near Ross), Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brockhampton (near Ross), Herefordshire
Brockhampton All Saints Herefordshire.jpg
Brockhampton All Saints Herefordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Greytree
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Ross PLU
Registration District Ross
Records begin
Parish registers: 1578
Bishop's Transcripts: 1661
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hereford
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Dean of Hereford
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Brockhampton was formed as chapelry within Woolhope, Herefordshire Ancient parish until it became an Ecclesiastical parish in 1771.

The church of All Saints was built in 1901-1902 as a parish church and is acclaimed as a fine example of the Arts and Craft movement and is nationally significant. It has been designated as a grade I listed building by English Heritage British listed building

See also Brockhampton by Ross Wikipedia Brockhampton near Ross

BROCKHAMPTON (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Ross, hundred of Greytree, county of Hereford, 6 miles North of Ross.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Brockhampton

Census records

Brockhampton census returns 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Ross Poor Law Union,Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/BrockhamptonRoss/index.html

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 392-395. Date accessed: 24 August 2012

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 November 2014, at 02:40.
  • This page has been accessed 2,195 times.