Bromborough, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.pngBromborough

Guide to Bromborough, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bromborough, Cheshire
St Barnabas Church Bromborough.jpg
St Barnabas Church Bromborough
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Wirral PLU
Registration District Wirrall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1580
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirral
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bromborough St Barnabas is an ancient parish, in the Wirral Hundred. The hamlet of Brimstage was part of the parish.

The first church on the site was built in 928 adjacent to a monastery which had been founded in 912, probably by Ethelfleda. This church was demolished in 1828 and replaced on the same site by another church.

BROMBORROW (St. Barnabas), is a parish, in the union of Wirrall, partly in the Lower, but chiefly in the Upper, division of the hundred of Wirrall, S. division of the county of Chester, 11 miles (N. N. W.) from Chester, on the road to Birkenhead; it contains the township of Brimstage. The parish is bounded on the east by the river Mersey.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241252.

Church Records

Bromborough St Barnabas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's =FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
Bromborough St Baranabas Parish (1580) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
CPR 1679-1871
1680-1871
1683-1871
FS PR's 1679-1909
NONE
1680-1932
NONE
1683-1905
NONE
FS BT'S 1679-1900 NONE
1869-1888
NONE
1679-1900
NONE
JOIN
1601-1835

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Bromborough, St. Barnabas is an ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Brimstage and Bromborough. Cheshire Record Office reference: P59/1/1-2, P59/2/1-3, P59/3/1-3, P59/5313/3-4, P59/3044/1, P59/4/1-2.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL)in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers Content FHL Film

Baptisms, burials, 1648-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1922. Banns of marriages, 1827-1890. Marriages, 1648-1932.

BRITISH 2149219 Items 3 - 13
Burials, 1813-1905. BRITISH 2149220 Items 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts for Bromborough, 1600-1900 Early text in Latin. Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 35

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop's Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online at Familysearch Historical Records. 
Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600, 1605-1610, 1612-1613, 1617-1622, 1627, 1630, 1636, 1638, 1641-1642, 1658-1660, 1679-1682, 1684-1685, 1703-1705, 1707-1735, 1741, 1744, 1746-1747, 1749-1761, 1767-1778, 1780-1792, 1794, 1796, 1798-1802, 1805-1818, 1829-1834, 1840-1846, 1868-1886, 1888. Baptisms, burials, 1819-1836, 1847-1849, 1851, 1855-1900. BRITISH 1655424 Item 2

The transcript for this parish is available online at Cheshire Parish Register project.
Bromborough Pool St Matthew was created out of the parish to serve the needs of Bromborough Pool.

Non-Conformist Churches

Bromborough, Christ the King (Roman Catholic). Built in 1928.

Bromborough, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1928.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Wirral (1837-1922)

Poor Law Unions

Wirral Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England and Wales 1848. Date accessed: 8 February 2013.
  2. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

Bibliography

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 115–116, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 July 2014, at 15:31.
  • This page has been accessed 3,638 times.