Bromley St Leonard, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bromley St Leonard

Guide to Bromley St Leonard, Middlesex family history and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

BROMLEY-ST.-LEONARD, is a parish in Poplar district, Middlesex; it lays 3.75 miles northeast St. Paul Cathedral, London. Within St Leonard's boundary were the chapels of St. Michael (built by 1868), St. Gabriel, and St. Andrew, both of which were built by the year 1869. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Bromley St Leonard Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1622
1622
1622
Images
1622-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1755-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1866 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1639-1640 FindMyPast[6]
1639-1640 BritishOrigins[7]
    1780-1837 Ancestry[8]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438811.

1666 Hearth Tax
1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bromley St Leonard on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, VisionofBritain.org Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 6 Nov 2013.
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary, Bromley St Leonard in Tower Hamlets Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Bromley St Leonard St Mary in Tower Hamlets Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Bromley St Leonard St Mary in Tower Hamlets Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Bromley St Leonard St Mary in Tower Hamlets Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  7. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 17:46.
  • This page has been accessed 8,508 times.