Brompton St Barbara Garrison Church, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Brompton, Kent)

EnglandGotoarrow.png; KentGotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Brompton, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Brompton St Barbara Garrison Church, Kent
Brompton St Barbara Garrison Church Kent.jpg
Brompton St Barbara Garrison Church Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chatham and Gillingham; Chatham Town
County Kent
Poor Law Union Medway PLU
Registration District Medway
Records begin
Parish registers: 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BROMPTON, a hamlet, in the parishes of Chatham and Gillingham, parliamentary borough of Chatham, union of Medway, hundred of Chatham and Gillingham, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Roman Catholics. [1]


Brompton St Barbara the garrison church is in Maxwell Road Gillingham. It serves the nearby Army Barracks and the Royal School of Military Engineering. Brompton Barracks has been home to the Royal Engineers since 1812 and now includes the Royal Engineers Museum.

The church dates from 1854 and has been designated a grade II listed building by English Heritage.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Brompton St Barbara Garrison Church, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[3]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[4]
Brompton St Barbara Garrison Church, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1847-1884


FS PRs 1848-1883 1849-1861
MED 1847-1977 1933-1955

Old Brompton Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Old Brompton Holy Trinity Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1848-1856
1849
1920-1921
MED 1848-1953 1849-1953 1920-1925

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306852.

FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.

The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved.
Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.

Poor Law Unions

Medway Poor Law Union,Kent


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Gillingham Family History Centre, Kent

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 395-400. Date accessed: 8 July 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
  4. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2014, at 13:46.
  • This page has been accessed 4,832 times.