Brompton (near Northallerton), YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-IGotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png

Guide to Brompton (near Northallerton), Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Brompton St Thomas Northallerton Yorkshire.jpg

Contents

Chapel History

BROMPTON (St Thomas), a chapelry, in the parish and union of Northallerton, wapentake of Allertonshire, North Riding Yorkshire, 1¾ mile (N. N. E.) from Northallerton; containing 1535 inhabitants. There are places of worship for Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from the Northallerton registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Brompton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
BROMPTON CHAPELRY (1594) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1595-1874

1594-1878

None

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

AC None

None

None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Northallerton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the NORTHALLERTON PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham Bishop's Transcripts: The Howe Manuscript Collection and the image only collection of the Durham Bishop's Transcripts DDR/EA/PBT/2/42 at Record Search contain images of the two sequences of Bishop's transcripts.April 1660-April 1663
[March] 1697-[March 1698]
March 1712-March 1713
[March ] 1726-[March 1727]
April 1731-March 1732 This is a photostat copy of the April 1731-March 1732 transcript, the original of which is among the Durham Cathedral Chapter Muniments.
1769
1776
1780
1785
1806
1808
Including transcript for DEIGHTON (in Northallerton parish Yorkshire [March] 1726-[March 1727]
See also separate series of transcripts for Deighton
In 1998 the Howe Transcript manuscripts were found in the Dean and Chapter library at Durham. John James Howe had received the original transcripts from Cuthbert Mills Carlton who died in 1892 and bequeathed them to Howe who was Chief Clerk in the Durham Probate registry.
The transcripts for Brompton referenced HBT 2-12 include:
Lady Day [25 March] 1710-Lady Day [25 March] 1711
25 March 1714-25 March 1715
25 March 1716-25 March 1717
1724-1725 undated William Wood curate
[25 March 1726 – 25 March 1726] undated (William Wood,curate)
1727-1728 undated William Wood curate
1729-1731
1732-1735
These were presented at visitation by the Dean and Chapter Durham member on 22 April 1735 at Northallerton.
Brompton transcript 1727-1728 is included in the Northallerton transcript in the Howe collection.
Judith Smeaton, of the North Yorkshire County Record Office compared the original parish register with the Howe Transcript for 1725-1726. She noted that although the transcript is easier to read than the original it is not an accurate or complete copy of the original.


Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464227.

Poor Law Unions

Northallerton Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Referenace

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 395-400. Date accessed: 18 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 2,249 times.