Brooke County, West VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
West Virginia
Brooke County
Guide to Brooke County West Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Brooke County, West Virginia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of West Virginia | |
![]() Location of West Virginia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | November 30, 1796 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Wellsburg |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | County Courthouse 632 Main Street Wellsburg, WV 26070 Phone: 304-737-3661 Brooke County Website |
Contents
|
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1853
Marriage Probate and Land Records from 1797
Military Records from 1797
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records[1]
History
Parent County
1796--Brooke County was created 30 November 1796 from Ohio County.
County seat: Wellsburg [2]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Brooke County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Brooke County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
Join us in indexing the 1940 Census
Church
Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
- Cross Creek (1802)[3]
Brooke County fell within the bounds of the Red Stone Association.
Court
Education
- Bethany College yearbooks, 1907-2007 - available online at the Internet Archive; not entirely all inclusive, but many volumes available.
Genealogy
- [Cheeks] Cheeks, Donald W. A Cheeks Family of the Upper Ohio Valley. 1994. FHL Book 929.273 C414c
- [Craft] Craft, Kenneth Fischer. "The Craft Family in America," The Southwest Virginian, Vol. 4, No. 20 (Apr. 1981):43-45; Vol. 4, No. 21 (June 1981):36-39. FHL Book 975.57 D25s v. 4 (1981).
- [Dornbläser] Greene, David L. "John Dornbläser of Brooke County, (West) Virginia: Recovering an Identity and Uncovering a Scandal," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 78, No. 1 (Jan. 1990):5-14. Digital version at National Genealogical Society website ($); FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 78 (1990).
- [Mendel] Barclay, Rachel E. "Valentine Mendel of Pennsylvania and West Virginia," The American Genealogist, Vol. 45, No. 3 (Jul. 1969):158-161. FHL 973 D25aga v. 45
Land
Local Histories
Cranmer, Gibson Lamb.History of the upper Ohio Valley: with family history and biographical sketches ; a statement of its resources, industrial growth and commercial advantages. Madison, Wisconsin: Brant & Fuller, c1890 Digital Version availble at familyhistoryarchives. FSbook|72896}} FamilySearch Books Online
Maps
Map of 1850 Virginia and West Virginia
Military
Revolutionary War
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Brooke County on page 133.]
War of 1812
Brooke County men served in the 103rd Regiment.[4]
Civil War
Union
- - 1st Regiment, West Virginia Infantry. Companies D, F, and G.
West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
Naturalization
West Virginia, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991
Newspapers
Occupations
- Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Wellsburg silversmiths.]
Probate
Brooke County, West Virginia Will Books 1797-1898
West Virginia Will Books
Taxation
How can Virginia tax lists help me?
- Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Brooke County is included in Vol. 6.]
Online West Virginia Tax site
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
Vital Records
West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. Includes marriages 1797, 1799-1833, 1835-1971 - free.
Societies and Libraries
Brooke County Genealogical Society Inc
P& O Box 144
Beech Bottom, WV 26030
!
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Brooke County, WVGenWeb - free genealogical resources; part of the USGenWeb Project
- Family History Library Catalog
- Cyndi's List for West Virginia
- Brooke County, West Virginia Microfilms at the Library of Virginia
![]() |
Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos. |
|---|
- Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Brooke County, West Virginia. Page 743 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (1810; reprint, Richmond, Va.: Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 438. Digital version at Google Books.
- ↑ Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 56. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
| This West Virginia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 00:20.
- This page has been accessed 2,629 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



