Brookland, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png  Kent Gotoarrow.pngKent Parishes

Guide to Brookland, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Brookland, Kent
Brookland St Augustine Kent.jpg
Brookland St Augustine Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aloesbridge
County Kent
Poor Law Union Romney Marsh PLU
Registration District Romney Marsh
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lympne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BROOKLAND (St. Augustine), a parish, in the union of Romney-Marsh, hundred of Aloesbridge, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 5 miles (W. by N.) from Romney. [1]


Brookland is a village and civil parish in the Shepway district of Kent, see Brookland Kent Wikipedia

Brookland St Augustine is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; the Parish of Brookland with Fairfield, Kent is within the Appledore with Brookland and Fairfield and Brenzett with Snargate benefice.

The church of St Augustine, High Street, Brookland has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 382-388 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

The church has a unique wooden detached octagonal bell turret which stands separately from the rest of the church. The original structure an open bell frame was built in the 12th century to house one large bell to warn of invasion or flooding.

In the 15th century this became an enclosed bell frame. The structure was damaged by the severe winds of 1987-1988 and the re-shingled with over 11,000 shingles.

Brookland and Fairfield were part of the ancient hundred of Aloesbridge.

Resources

Civil Registration

See Romney Marsh Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Brookland, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[8]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[9]
Brookland, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1662-1775

FMP 1684-1878
1684-1943; 1754-1812 (Banns)
1684-1863
FREG 1750-1911
1754-1911

FS PRs 1823-1900 (banns)
MIDK 1754-1911

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Appledore, Brookland and Ivychurch are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Images for Brookland and Fairfield are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832 The bundle of returns are for " the upper half od the Hundred of Aloesbridge";  Aloesbridge is a hundred which includes Brookland and Fairfield.

Census records

Census returns for Brookland 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Romney Marsh Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 400-405. Date accessed: 8 July 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  6. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  7. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
  9. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2014, at 13:51.
  • This page has been accessed 6,098 times.