Brooks County, Texas GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Brooks County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Brooks County, Texas|
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||March 11, 1911|
|Address|| Brooks County Courthouse|
PO Box 427
Falfurrias, TX 78355
Brooks County Website
Brooks County Courthouse
Falfurrias, TX 78355
(512) 325-5604(512) 325-5604 FAX: (512) 325-5678
County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, probate
and court records from 1911
P.O. Box 427
Falfurrias, TX 78355
Phone: 361-3258-5604 (Ext. 153)
P.O. Box 534
Falfurrias, TX 78355
Phone: 361-325-5604 (Ext. 169)
Mexican colonists settled the area before 1883. The first Ango- Americans arrived in 1883.
The county was named for John Brooks, who worked to establish the county. State Representative John Abijah Brooks, succeeded in having Brooks County separated from Starr County, with Falfurrias as the county seat. The initial plans were to name the new county Falfurrias County, but in the end it was decided to name it Brooks in honor of John Brooks, who worked diligently for its formation.
Places / Localities
Towns and Cities: | Falfurris | Los Olmos |
- Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1870(images) - FamilySearch
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Brooks County Cemeteries from the Brooks County TXGenWeb site
- Cemeteries of Brooks County - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Longoria Cemetery, Encino BillionGraves
- Pedro Garza Zamora Cemetery, Falfurrias (Airport Road Addition) BillionGraves. East of Falfurrias on SH-285.
- FindAGrave Brooks County Cemeteries - transcriptions and photographs
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Bailey County Catholic Churches
- First Baptist Church Muleshoe
- First United Methodist Church
- 1st Assembly of God Parsonage
- Church of Christ
- Calvary Baptist Parsonage
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Original Land Owners of Texas - USGenWeb Archives Project
Naturalization and Citizenship
- 1906 - 1989 Texas, Naturalization Records, 1906-1989 — index and images
Local histories are available for Brooks County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site
- 1838 - 1900 Texas Muster Roll Index Cards 1838-1900 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1845 - 1848 US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
- Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
- Texas, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
- Brooks County Military from the TXGenWeb site
- Civil War Pension Applications - USGenWeb Archives Project
- US Army Company A-31st Batt. FT Carson CO 1957-1958
- Brooks County Casualties World War II - Army & Air Force - Access Genealogy
- Co K 2nd Texas Cavalry
- Muster Rolls - Republic of Texas
- Civil War Union Regiment
- TX Civil War Message Board
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Brooks County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records 1800-2000 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records 1800-1990 at FamilySearch — images
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Brooks County Births 1926-1934, from the Brook County TXGenWeb site
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
- 1840 - 1981 Texas Births and Christenings 1840-1981 at FamilySearch.org — index
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Brooks County Marriages - transcriptions - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Texas County Marriage Records, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch. Index to a variety of marriage records (registers, licenses, intentions to marry, etc.) from select counties in Texas.
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 - FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Brooks County Deaths - transcriptions - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903
- Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Deaths and Burials 1903 - 1973 (index) - FamilySearch
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Original Death Records on Microfilm
- Brooks County Divorces - transcriptions - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries
Brooks County Historical Commission
604 W. Blucher
Falfurrias, TX 78355
Brush Country Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 291
Ed Rachal Memorial Library
203 S. Henry
Falfurrias TX 78355
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 21 November 2015, at 23:47.
- This page has been accessed 23,857 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News