Broomfield County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.pngColoradoGotoarrow.pngBroomfield County

Guide to Broomfield County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Broomfield County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Broomfield County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 15, 2001
County Seat Broomfield
Courthouse
Address Broomfield County Courthouse
one Des Combes Drive
Broomfield, CO 80020
Phone: 303.438.6390
Broomfield County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


Colorado’s newest county[1] was formed November 15, 2001 from the city of Broomfield which was organized June 6, 1961. It is now a consolidated city and county.

Central Records Office
City and County Building
1 DesCombes Drive
Broomfield, CO 80020

Ph: 303.464.5819


City and County Clerk
1 Descombes Drive
Broomfield, CO 80020

Ph: 303.464.5819
Fx: 303.438.6252

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
2001 *
2001 *
2001 *
2001
2001
2001
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

From its beginnings in the 1880s as a train station on the Denver, Utah and Pacific Railroad, the unorganized community of Broomfield was in Boulder County. The name "Broomfield" came from the fields of broomcorn that grew in the area. Broomfield was a small farming community until the Turnpike Land Company began development in 1955. The population grew from 125 in 1950 to over 6,000 in 1961. Starting in 1969, the city began annexing parts of three counties. In 1969, parts of Jefferson County were annexed; in 1971, parts of Adams County; and in 1988 parts of Weld County were annexed.

County Seat

Broomfield [2]

Parent County

Cobroomfield.jpg

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Broomfield County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Local History

Local histories are available for Broomfield County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

Maps

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Broomfield County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

Public Records

School Records

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Broomfield County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968

Family History Centers
Libraries

Broomfield/Eisenhower Public Library
3 Community Park Road
Broomfield, Colorado 80020

Museums
Societies

Broomfield Genealogy Society
Questions regarding the society may be directed by e-mail to the officers listed on the website

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [3]

Marriage
Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [3]

Divorce

Places

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Broomfield County, Colorado. Page 97At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 September 2014, at 16:36.
  • This page has been accessed 7,255 times.