Broomsthorpe, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Broomsthorpe, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Broomsthorpe, Norfolk
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gallow
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BROOMSTHORPE, a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Gallow, W. division of Norfolk, 5½ miles (N. N. E.) from Rougham. [1]


Broomsthorpe is a village within the county of Norfolk and is an extra parochial place. Use England Jurisdictions 1851 to locate neighbouring parishes of  East Rudham, Norfolk
 Helhoughton, Norfolk Tattersett, Norfolk

It's church was destroyed before the reign of Elizabeth I and is believed to have been dedicated to St John. The Guild of St John is recorded in association with the village and suggests the dedicatory name of the lost church.

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Broomsthorpe like this:

BROOMSTHORPE, a hamlet in East Rudham parish, Norfolk; 5½ miles W of Fakenham. Acres, 340. Pop., 16. Houses, 3. It is sometimes described as a parish.

Contributor please add any further history of the village


Resources =

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Broomsthorpe is an extra parochial place Use England Jurisdictions 1851 to locate surrounding parishes by clicking on options tab and conducting a search of contiguous parishes.

Census records


Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 405-409. Date accessed: 12 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,471 times.