Broseley, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  ShropshireGotoarrow.png  Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Broseley, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Broseley, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wenlock
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Madeley PLU
Registration District Madeley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1638
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wenlock
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BROSELEY (St. Leonard), a market-town and parish, in the union of Madeley, franchise of Wenlock, S. division of Shropshire, 2 miles (S.) from Iron-bridge,14 (S. E.) from Shrewsbury, and 144 (N. W.) from London, on the road from Worcester to Shrewsbury. There are places of worship for Baptists,Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and Independents. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Broseley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[3][4][5]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
BROSELEY PARISH (1570) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1873 (gaps)
1813-1833, 1836-1837, 1840

BOYD
1571-1750

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IARC 1570-1700
1570-1700
1570-1700
IARC 1701-1750
1701-1750
1701-1750
IGI 1570-1830 1751-1840
JOIN
1571-1750

MLOC 1570-1700
1570-1700
1570-1700

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474591.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 405-409. Date accessed: 27 May 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 31 January 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 April 2014.
  7. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 16:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,935 times.