Broughton, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Broughton, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. For other places with the same name see Broughton

Broughton, Lancashire
St John's Church, Broughton Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Preston PLU
Registration District Preston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1671
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

BROUGHTON (St Johns) a chapelry created in 1774, in the parish and union of Preston St John Ancient Parish, hundred of Amounderness, N. division of the county of Lancaster; comprising the townships of Broughton, Barton, and Haighton. Adjacent to the Roman Catholic chapel is a school. Other places in the parish include: Dorton. [1]

Broughton is a village and civil parish in the City of Preston, Lancashire, England, about 4 miles (6.4 km) north of Preston city centre. The parish is included in Preston Rural North ward of Preston city council, and the Preston Rural division of Lancashire County council.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Broughton chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Preston to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = findmypast
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


BROUGHTON ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry  (1653) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1653-1900 1654-1900 None
LOPC 1725-1900 1653-1900 1724-1848
LBMD 1837-1937 1837-1998 1837-1937
FMP None 1676-1837 None
AC 1653-1804 1653-1804 1653-1804
PRESTON ST JOHN PARISH (1609) Indexes (ancient parish containing BROUGHTON Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1611-1635, 1732, 1767-1792, 1795-1900 1611-1631, 1654-1704, 1729-1906 1731-1732, 1763-1792, 1795-1946
LOPC 1753-1770, 1776-1825, 1828-1861, 1863-1932 1611-1635, 1726-1839, 1841-1847, 1868-1902 1753-1770, 1775-1792, 1795-1827, 1858-1861, 1864-1872
LBMD
1837-1990 1878-1903
FMP None 1609-1837 None
AC 1611-1635 1611-1635 1611-1635


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Broughton and comprising the whole ancient parish of Preston to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the PRESTON PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306889.


Poor Law Unions

Preston Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Broughton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 409-412. Date accessed: 09 September 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 6,920 times.