Broughton, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Shropshire

For other places with the same name see Broughton

Guide to Broughton, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Broughton, Shropshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Albrighton Division
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Wem PLU
Registration District Wem
Records begin
Parish registers: 1705
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wem
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Broughton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[1][2][3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
BROUGHTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1608-1811

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1630-1634, 1660-1856
JOIN
1608-1811

MLOC 1714-1812
1714-1811
1714-1812
PALL
1790-1812

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1630-1856 Marr 1630-1836 Bur 1630-1853

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  2. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 16:25.
  • This page has been accessed 730 times.