Upper Broughton (Broughton Sulney), NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Upper Broughton (Broughton Sulney), Nottinghamshire
Upper Broughton St Luke Nottinghamshire.jpg
Upper Broughton St Luke Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bingham
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Melton Mowbray PLU
Registration District Melton Mowbray
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BROUGHTON-SULNEY, a parish, in the union of Melton-Mowbray, S. division of the wapentake of Bingham and of the county of Nottingham, 7 miles (N. W.) from Melton-Mowbray.[1]

Additional information:


Upper Broughton St Luke (also known as Broughton Sulney in older records) is an Ancient parish in the Melton Mowbray area of Nottinghamshire whose parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbour Old Dalby, Leicestershire .

The church was restored in 1855 by S.S. Teulon but originated about 1200 in part and has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage British listed building


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Upper Broughton (Broughton Sulney), Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BROUGHTON SULNEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1571-1812

Upper Broughton St Luke (Sometimes referred to as Broughton Sulney)

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1571-1906 Marriages 1591-1977 Burials 1571-1993 Bishop's Transcripts 1602-1852
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Broughton Sulney

Upper Broughton - Free Church.  A Small Chapel Dated 1795. A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions at Upper Broughton - Free Churchyard dating from 1818 onwards, giving surname, given name, date of Death, and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 93, pages 42-43. Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Upper Broughton - St. Luke's.  A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions at Upper Broughton - St. Luke's. dated from 1727 giving surname, given name, date of death and age. A War Memorial Plaque for W.W.1, France and Belgium, and one entry for W.W. 2. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 93 pages 44-49. Family History Library Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438902.

see Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Melton Mowbray Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Broughton Sulney in GENUKI; www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/BroughtonSulney/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 November 2014, at 02:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,295 times.