Broward County, FloridaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Florida  Gotoarrow.png  Broward County

Guide to Broward County Florida genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Florida
Online Records


Broward County, Florida
Map
Map of Florida highlighting Broward County
Location in the state of Florida
Map of the U.S. highlighting Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 30, 1915
County Seat Fort Lauderdale
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Denise Wells, CC & Jo Branch, ACC
Broward County FLGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Broward County Courthouse
 201 SE 6th Street
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone: 954.765.4578

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, probate divorce, court and land records from 1915[1]

History

Parent County

1915- Broward County was created 30 April 1915 from Dade and Palm Beach Counties.
County seat: Fort Lauderdale [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Florida counties see: Florida Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

FLGenWeb Broward Co. Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Broward County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
19205,135
193020,094291.3%
194039,79498.0%
195083,933110.9%
1960333,946297.9%
1970620,10085.7%
19801,018,20064.2%
19901,255,48823.3%
20001,623,01829.3%


FLGenWeb Broward Co. 1920 Census

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Fort Lauderdale
  • Pompano

Cities

FLGenWeb Broward Co. Cities

Court

Education

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Broward County, Florida. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps

Flbroward.png

Military

FLGenWeb Broward Co. Military

>>>World War I

1917 Draft Registrations @ learnwebskills.com
World War I Veterans @ learnwebskills.com

>>>World War II

Robert B. Conlon - Medal of Honor & Distinguished Service Cross Recipient...Broward Co, FLGenWeb

World War II, Missing and Dead (Army and Army Air Force) Broward Co, FLGenWeb

World War II Veterans @ learnwebskills.com

>>>Korean War

Korean War Fatal Casualties, Broward Co, FLGenWeb

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Broward County, Florida newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records are held by the Broward County, Florida Clerk of Court and are housed at the Broward County, Florida Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.

Executions in Broward Co.(FLGenWeb)

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Broward County, Florida. Page 133 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:23.
  • This page has been accessed 8,738 times.