Brown Candover with Chilton Candover, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Brown Candover with Chilton Candover

Guide to Brown Candover with Chilton Candover, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brown Candover with Chilton Candover, Hampshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mainsborough
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Alresford PLU
Registration District Alresford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1611; Separate registers exist for Chilton Candover beginning 1672
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780; Separate records exist for Chilton Candover beginning 1729
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alresford
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CANDOVER, BROWN (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Alresford, hundred of Mainsborough, Winchester and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 4 miles (N. by W.) from Alresford.[1].

CANDOVER, CHILTON (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Alresford, hundred of Mainsborough, Winchester and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 5 miles (N.) from Alresford.[2].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Brown Candover parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FS = FamilySearch - free[6]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[7]
BROWN CANDOVER PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1612-1837

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS
1612-1837

PRTS 1780-1812
1612-1837
1780-1812

Chilton Candover parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

CHILTON CANDOVER PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812
FS
1612-1837

PRTS
1813-1837


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288803.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 497-501. Date accessed: 19 June 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 497-501. Date accessed: 19 June 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  5. 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
  6. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:48.
  • This page has been accessed 3,140 times.