Brown County, IndianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Indiana
Brown County
Guide to Brown County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Brown County, Indiana | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location of Indiana in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | February 4, 1836 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Nashville | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Brown County Courthouse Main St and Van Buren Street Nashville, IN 47448 Phone: 812.988.5510 | ||||||
| |||||||
Historical Facts
Populated Places
Boundary Changes
Neighboring Counties
Record Loss
Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
- Burned Counties Research in FamilySearch Wiki
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle
Resources
Bible Records
Biographies
Business Records
Cemeteries
- Cemeteries of Brown County - INGenWeb
Census Records
For tips on accessing Brown County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Brown County, Indiana (1880) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Church Records
Court Records
Directories
- Directory of Businesses in Brown County, Indiana (1868) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic and Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogies
Histories
Local Histories
- Counties of Morgan, Monroe, and Brown, Indiana. Historical and Biographical [1]
- Brown County, Indiana:History - Linkpendium
Land and Property
Maps
- Family Maps of Brown County, Indiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Brown County, Indiana: Maps and Gazetteers - Linkpendium
Military Records
Civil War
Civil War service men from Brown County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Brown County.
- 22nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 82nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies D, and H
- 120th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies I, and K
- 145th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
Civil War Books
- Indiana Genealogical Society. Indiana Veterans Enrollment List. 1890 Brown County. [Indiana]: (Indiana Genealogical Society, 2006.) CD-ROM no. 4168 Computer US/CAN Desktop FHL Collection other library
- "Military History" in Blanchard, Charles. Counties of Morgan, Monroe, and Brown, Indiana. Historical and Biographical. (Chicago: F.A. Battey & Co, 1884.) page 703-713, 977.2 H2b FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other library INTERNET ARCHIVE
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Occupations
- Roster of Civilian Conservation Corps, Nashville, Brown County, Indiana (1938) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Obituaries
- Brown County, Indiana Obituary and Death Notice Collection Free from GenealogyBuff.com. Obits and death notices from Various Funeral Homes in the Hamblen, Nashville, and Helmsburg areas.
Probate Records
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Brown County Courthouse
Main St and Van Buren Street
Nashville, IN 47448
Phone: 812.988.5510
Some records lost in 1873 fire
County Health Department has birth and death records from 1882.
County Clerk has marriage and probate and court records from 1836
divorce records from 1850, court ordered birth records from 1942.
County Recorder has land records from 1874. [2]
Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
- Brown County Indiana Historical Society There is a tab for Historical Archives
- Brown County Genealogical Society Facebook Page
- Brown County Genealogical Society Website
Family History Centers
School Records
Taxation
- Tax List of Brown County, Indiana (1848, 1858, 1864, 1875, 1890) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Vital Records
Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records
Voter Registration
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Brown County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Brown County, Indiana History, Records, Facts and Genealogy - N2genealogy
References
- ↑ Blanchard, Charles. Counties of Morgan, Monroe, and Brown, Indiana. Historical and Biographical. (Chicago: F.A. Battey Co, 1884.) 977.2 H2b FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection[1]INTERNET ARCHIVE
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Browne County, Indiana 211 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
| This Indiana-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 22:46.
- This page has been accessed 2,213 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
