Brown County, KansasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Kansas
Brown County
Brown County, Kansas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W
| Brown County, Kansas | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Kansas | |
![]() Location of Kansas in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | August 30, 1855 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Hiawatha |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy [[]] | |
| Address | Brown County Courthouse 601 Oregon Street Hiawatha, Kansas 66434 Phone: 785.742.2581 |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Brown County Courthouse
601 Oregon Street
Hiawatha, KS 66434
Phone: 785.742.2581
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and
court records from 1800’s and marriage records.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1857. [1]
History
Parent County
1855--Brown County was created 30 August 1855 as an original county. County seat: Hiawatha [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Indian Reservation
The Kickapoo Indian Reservation is located within the boundaries of Brown County.
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Brown County, Kansas for European and African American settlers included:
- Missouri River
- Oregon Trail 1830s to 1890s from western Missouri to Oregon City, Oregon[3]
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[4]
- Mormon Trail 1846 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah[5]
Military
Soldiers from Brown County enlisted in:
1st Regiment, Companies A and B
2nd Infantry Regiment, Companies Dand G
2nd Cavalry Regiment, Company I
5th Cavalry Regiment, Companies G and L
7th Regiment, Companies A, C, H, and I
8th Regiment, Companies C and D
9th Regiment, Company A
11th Regiment, Company F
13th Regiment, Companies A, B, E, G, H, I
14th Cavalry Regiment , Companies A, H, L, K
16th Cavalry Regiment , Companies A, C, and K
Nebraska 2nd Cavalry Regiment, Companies G and L
Missouri Regiments 5 and 25
All regiments are Kansas Infantry unless otherwise indicated.
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Brown County, Kansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Brown County, Kansas 248 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 2 February 2013, at 01:49.
- This page has been accessed 1,237 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


