Brown County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Brown County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Brown County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Brown County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 26, 1818
County Seat Green Bay
Courthouse
Address Brown County Courthouse
305 E Walnut Street
PO Box 23600
Green Bay, WI 54305-3600
Phone: 920.448.4016
WI Brown.png



Contents

Historical Facts

1818--Brown County was created 26 October 1818 from Michigan Territory.  County seat: Green Bay [1]

Populated Places

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Neighboring Counties

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

  • 1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free Internet unindexed images to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search – Pilot Site. This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1885 Wisconsin State Census  FamilySearch Record Search  Browse unindexed images.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.

Church Records

Lutheran
  • Records of Trinity Lutheran Church, Green Bay, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

1823-1939: Circuit Court case files are available at:

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone:(920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu

Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Circuit Court Look-Up Request form available at:  http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Land and Property

1820-1873: General Index to Deeds and Mortgages

1820-1902: Deeds  and Mortgages

1859-1980: Tax Rolls  available at:

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu

Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives Area Research Center

Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Brown County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Brown County.

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company G
- 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company I
- 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company H
- 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Company D
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

1829 - 1984: Records are housed at:

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu


Facebook:  University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center

Name Searchable Index   
Citizenship Record Request 

Newspapers

Obituaries

Probate Records

1821-1976: Records available at:

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone:(920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu


Facebook:  University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center

Name Searchable Index 
Probate Record Request form 

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse
Archives


Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

School Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Brown County Courthouse
305 E Walnut Street
PO Box 23600
Green Bay, WI 54305-3600
Phone: 920.448.4016

Register of Deeds has birth records from 1846,
marriage records from 1821, death records from 1834
and land records; Clerk Court has divorce and court
records from 1832; Register in Probate has probate
records from 1828; see Michigan for 1820-1830 census[2]

Pre-1907 Birth, Death, and Marriage registrations available at:

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Birth, Death, and Marriage Request Forms available at:  http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/
 

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Voter Registration

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Brown County, Wisconsin, p.755

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 December 2014, at 17:57.
  • This page has been accessed 13,953 times.