Brownswood Park, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Brownswood Park

Guide to Brownswood Park, Middlesex family history and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

The location is that of the Church of St John the Evangelist, Brownswood Park. The area took its name from the manor of Brownswood, more details being given in 'Hornsey, including Highgate: Manors.

South part of Brownswood Park was built up in the 1860s and 1870s. At Brownswood Park many of the original families had moved out by 1895.[1]

Brownswood Park St John the Evangelist, Queen's Drive, Finsbury Park. It was established by 1874; it originally was in Hornsey Parish, but also was associated with Gloucester Dr, in the parish of Hackney.

(See the Genuki page for this church.)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438812.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. T F T Baker, C R Elrington, A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 6: Friern Barnet, Finchley, Hornsey with Highgate (1980) Adapted. Date accessed: 3 January 2014.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 September 2014, at 14:37.
  • This page has been accessed 3,368 times.