Bruera, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Bruera, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bruera, Cheshire
St Mary Church Bruera.jpg
St Mary Church Bruera
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Congleton PLU
Registration District Congleton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: 1893
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bruera St Mary is now an ecclesiatical parish on the site of a former ancient chapel to Chester St Oswalds. It was created as a parish in 1868.

The settlement of Bruera is not recorded in the Domesday Book and the first mention of the church is in the Chartulary of St Werburgh's Abbey, Chester dating from around 1150. It was then a chapel in the parish of St Oswald's, Chester.

CHURTON-HEATH, or Bruera, a chapelry, in the parish of St. Oswald, Chester, union of Great Boughton, Lower division of the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester, 5¼ miles (S. E. by S.) from Chester. Lewis. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241252.

Church Records

Bruera St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
Bruera St Mary Parish (1657) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1665-1837

FS PR's 1657-1909
NONE
1665-1934
NONE
1680-1963
NONE
FS BT'S 1672-1884 NONE
1673-1836
NONE
1668-1840
NONE
JOIN
1665-1837

PRTS
1665-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. Parish registers for Bruera, 1657-1949 Bruera is a chapelry in Chester St. Oswald parish.
Cheshire Record Office reference: P24/1-2, P24/3193/1/1-2, P24/3193/2, P24/4881/1, P24/5327

An index for Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts is available online in Record Search.
Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, marriages, 1657-1833. Baptisms, 1833-1949. Marriages, 1833-1837. BRITISH
2000035 Items 3 - 8
Burials, 1832-1899. VAULT BRITISH
2000036 Item 1
Marriages, 1837-1983. BRITISH
2106998 Item 5

Bishop's transcripts for Bruera, 1666-1884 The chapelry of Bruera is located in the parish of St. Oswald Chester.
Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 36.

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online in Record Search.

Bishop's Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1666, 1668-1677, 1679, 1681-1685, 1689-1692, 1695-1700, 1703-1711, 1714-1723, 1725-1745. 1800 BRITISH
1655424 Item 3
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1744-1757, 1759-1782, 1784-1827, 1829-1830, 1832-1834,1836-1837
Baptisms, 1872-1884. Baptisms & burials, 1828-1840.
BRITISH
1655425 Item 1
Non-Conformist Churches

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Great Boughton (1837–69)
  • Chester (1870–1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937–74)
  • Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
  • Cheshire West (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bruera or Churton Heath on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England and Wales 1848. Date accessed: 8 February 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

Bibliography

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 70–74
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 118, ISBN 0 300 09588 0
Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 25, ISBN 1871731232

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:37.
  • This page has been accessed 4,923 times.