Bruisyard, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Bruisyard, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bruisyard, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Plomesgate
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Plomesgate PLU
Registration District Plomesgate
Records begin
Parish registers: 1566
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Orford
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bruisyard, is a parish in Plomesgate district, Suffolk county; it is on the river Alde, 3 miles NE of Framlingham railway station, and 4½ miles WNW of Saxmundham. [1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

Civil Registration

Bruisyard is in Plomesgate district. To search an index of Plomesgate district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records. 

Church records

Bruisyard, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Bruisyard, Suffolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1566-1753

NBI

1568-1900
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

There are census records available for Bruisyard from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the Bruisyard 1841-1891 censuson microfilm, refer to the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Bruisyard was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District.  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Wilson, John W., Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 23 September 2013.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:31.
  • This page has been accessed 2,040 times.