Brumstead, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Brumstead, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brumstead, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Happing
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Tunstead and Happing PLU
Registration District Tunstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Waxham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRUMSTEAD (St. Peter), a parish, in the Tunstead and Happing incorporation, hundred of Happing, E. division of Norfolk, 1 mile (N.) from Stalham. [1]


Brunstead (aka Brunstead) St Peter is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norfolk.

Brumstead has an entry in the Domesday Book of 1085. In the great book Brumstead is recorded by the names Brumestade, and Brunestade. The main landholders was Roger Bigot. The main tenant is said to be Robert from Roger Bigot. The survey also mentions that there were 30 goats, a church and a mill. There was a pannage or woodland for 16 pigs. In the survey the size of the local woodland was given as to the number of swine the woodland could support.The name Brumstead is believed to derive from the "place of broom".

The village has also been known for hundreds of years as Brunstead, as old maps demonstrate. Brunstead is also the name by which the village is known locally, and the name on the village sign.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Tunstead 1837-1869
  • Smallburgh 1870-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974

Church records

Brumstead, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BENE = Benefice of Stalham, Sutton and Ingham - free.
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[9]
Brumstead, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BENE 1813-1857


BOYD
1562-1837

FREG 1561-1812
1561-1949
1561-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1561-1812 Undefined 1561-1949 Undefined 1561-1812
IGI 1562-1812 1561-1845 (gaps)
JOIN
1561-1823

NTA
1561-1901

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 263/ 1-6

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438861.

http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/Brunstead.htm transcript of 1891 census

Poor Law Unions

For Tunstead and Happing see http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/norf/smallburgh_workhouse.htm

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 412-415. Date accessed: 12 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  9. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2014, at 16:02.
  • This page has been accessed 2,111 times.