Brundish, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Hoxne Hundred Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

 

Guide to Brundish, Suffolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Historical populations
Year Pop.
1801 330
1821 427
1841 525
1851 510
1871 -
1891 377
BRUNDISH (St. Lawrence,) a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 4½ miles (N. by W.) from Framlingham.[1]




Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Brundish and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for film numbers.

Civil Registration

Brundish was in Hoxne district till 1907 at which time it was moved into Hartismere District. In 1907 Hoxne district was abolished. To search an index of Hoxne or Hartismere district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.  While the district had been created in 1837 for the purpose of recording births, deaths , and marriages, the Hundred had been in existence for hundreds of years for administrative, military, and judicial purposes.

Church records

The Parish Registers begin in 1562.  They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office, Ipswich.  A copy of the registers from 1562 to 1900 can be purchased from the Suffolk Record Office.  For pre-1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. Parish Chest records are considerable for Brundish.   See Suffolk Church Record for further details.

Brundish Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been partly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years: The Suffolk Family History Society publishes their indexes on CD

FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£) FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org SFHS = Suffolk Family History Society
BRUNDISH PARISH (1562) Online Records
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1562-1785 also
1813-1873
1813-1837 few pre 1813 None
FMP 1813-1900 Boyd's Marriage Index also 1813-1837 National Burial Index
FREG None None None
SFHS 1813-1900 1754-1900 Suffolk Burial Index
1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
Brundish, Suffolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1814-1837
BOYD
1563-1749

IGI 1562-1785, 1839-1873 1563-1749
JOIN
1563-1751

NBI

1563-1900
TGEN 1562-1785
1563-1751
1563-1785

Census records

There are census records available for Brundish from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Brundish Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Brundish was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District..  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other things of interest.
  • National Gazetteers provide a brief description of each place

BRUNDISH, a parish in Hoxne district, Suffolk; 4½ miles N by W of Framlingham r. station.[8]
BRUNDISH (St. Lawrence,) a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 4½ miles (N. by W.) from Framlingham.[9]

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 412-415. Adapted. Date accessed: 6 March 2014.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  5. 'Suffolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 3 December 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.
  8. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales.Date accessed: 23 September 2013.
  9. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 412-415. Adapted. Date accessed: 10 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:44.
  • This page has been accessed 3,340 times.