Brunei GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Brunei)

Asia Gotoarrow.png Brunei

Guide to Brunei ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

News and Events

Other Heading
  • (bullet)

Emblem of Brunei
Flag of Brunei
Brunei location in S. E. Asia

The correct name for Brunei is:Brunei (Listeni/bruːˈnaɪ/, broo-NY or /bruːˈneɪ/ broo-NAY) officially the Nation of Brunei, the Abode of Peace.

Brunei is a sovereign state located on the north coast of the island of Borneo in Southeast Asia. It is completely surrounded by the state of Sarawak, Malaysia; and is also separated into two parts by the Sarawak district of Limbang. It is the only sovereign state completely on the island of Borneo; the remainder of the island's territory being divided between the nations of Malaysia and Indonesia.

Islam is Brunei's official religion, 67 percent of the population is Muslim, mostly Sunnis of Malay origin who follow the Shafi school of Islamic law.

At the peak of Bruneian Empire, the Sultanate is alleged to have had control over most regions of the island of Borneo, including modern-day Sarawak and Sabah, as well as the Sulu archipelago off the northeast tip of Borneo, Seludong (modern-day Manila), and the islands off the northwest tip of Borneo.

In 1888, Brunei became a British protectorate and was assigned a British resident as colonial manager in 1906. After the Japanese occupation during World War II, in 1959, a new constitution was written. In 1962, a small armed rebellion against the monarchy was ended with the help of the British.

Today, the wealth of Brunei comes from its rich petrochemical deposits, both offshore and onshore. It is one of the richest countries in the whole of Asia.

The IMF estimated, in 2011, that Brunei was one of two countries (the other being Libya) with a public debt at 0% of the national GDP.


Getting started with Brunei research

Brunei has a Government Department for Births, Marriages, and Deaths. The link to this department follows:

Brunei Embassy Vital Statistics

The following link provides some assistance in genealogical research in Brunei:

Kindred Trails Brunei

Another link for genealogy follows:

Geneanet Brunei

FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Georgia Page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze Georgian records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. feedback are essential!


(Your text or images here)

Research Tools

(Your text or images here)

  • (helpful tools and resources, gazetteers)
  • (language dictionary, handwriting guide or tutorial, etc.)

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:

Featured Content

(Your text or images here)

Did you know?

(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)



Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 September 2015, at 03:38.
  • This page has been accessed 7,101 times.