Bruton Parish, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Bruton Parish
Bruton Parish Church.jpg

Contents

History

Bruton Parish has served James City and York counties.

Founded

Resources

Bruton Parish Church Cemetery.jpg

Cemetery

In 1903, Rev. Goodwin published "copies of all epitaphs visible in [the parish] church and church-yard." See Historical Sketch of Bruton Church (pp. 87-117).

Ministers

  • Cary, Wilson Miles. "Descendants of Rev. Rowland Jones, First Rector of Bruton Parish, Va.," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jan., 1897), pp. 192-197. FHL Book 973 H25w; digital version at JSTOR ($).

Parish History

  • "Church Patronage in Virginia. Argument for Bruton Parish the Plaintiff," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 22, No. 4 (Oct., 1914), pp. 401-409. FHL Book 975.5 B2v; digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • Goodwin, William A.R. Bruton Parish Church Restored and Its Historic Environment. Petersburg, Va.: The Franklin Press Co., 1907. Digital versions at Google BooksInternet Archive.
  • Goodwin, William Archer Rutherford. The Record of Bruton Parish Church. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, 1941.
  • Goodwin, William A.R. Historical Sketch of Bruton Church. Petersburg, Va.: The Franklin Press Company, 1903. Digital versions at FamilySearch Books Online - free; Google Books - free. Includes parish register entries, cemetery transcriptions, list of ministers, list of vestrymen, a list of slaveowners who baptized slaves in the parish (slaveowners listed on pp. 154-157).

Meade's 1861 history of the five parishes of Williamsburg is available online.[2]

Rev. W.A.R. Goodwin's history of Bruton Parish Church (1907) has been digitized by Google Books.[3]

For a history of a well-known plantation in the parish, see:

  • Campbell, Helen J. "Porto Bello: Bruton Parish, York County, Virginia," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 69, No. 4 (Oct., 1961), pp. 460-468. FHL Book 975.5 B2v; digital version at JSTOR ($).

Parish Records

Parish Registers

In 1903, Rev. Goodwin published abstracts of all extant parish registers. See Historical Sketch of Bruton Church. For births (1739-1797), see pp. 121-131. For deaths (1662-1751), see pp. 132-143.

Chappelear also abstracted the old parish registers:

  • Chappelear, Nancy. Bruton and Middleton Parishes, James City County, Virginia, Parish Register, 1662-1797. Washington, D.C.: Chappelear & Baird, 1966. Available at FHL.

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Bruton Parish Church

References

  1. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  2. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  3. Colonial Churches: A Series of Sketches of Churches in the Original Colony of Virginia (Richmond, Va.: Southern Churchman Co., 1907), 55-60.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 9,268 times.