Bryan County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Georgia  Gotoarrow.png  Bryan County

Guide to Bryan County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Bryan County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Bryan County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 19, 1793
County Seat Pembroke
Courthouse
Address Bryan County Courthouse
151 S College St
Pembroke, GA 31321
Phone: 912.653.3839
Bryan County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Bryan County Courthouse
151 S College St
Pembroke, GA 31321
Phone: 912.653.3839

Probate Judge has marriage, probate, birth and some death records; County Clerk has divorce records from 1920, court and land records from 1793.[1]

Beginning Dates for Bryan County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




1793

History

Parent County

1793--Bryan County was created 19 December 1793 from Chatham County. County seat:  Pembroke [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported damage.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Bulloch County  • Chatham County  • Effingham County  • Evans County  • Liberty County

Bryan CountyLiberty CountyMcIntosh CountyLong CountyWayne CountyWayne CountyAppling CountyTattnall CountyEvans CountyCandler CountyBulloch CountyEffingham CountyScreven CountyJasper CountyBeaufort CountyChatham CountyGABryan.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Methodist Episcopal

Campground Methodist Episcopal Church

  • 1884-1885 - Campground Methodist Episcopal Church Baptism Index 1884-1885. Batch C712211 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1884-1895 - Campground Methodist Episcopal Church Marriage Index 1884-1895. Batch M712211 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church

  • 1880-1885 - Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church Baptism Index 1880-1885. Batch C712221 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1880-1895 - Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church Marriage Index 1880-1895. Batch M712221 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bryan County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Bryan County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bryan County, Georgia:


- 11th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (State Guards) (Confederate), Company E
- 25th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 47th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- Military - Civil War - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battles were fought in Bryan County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bryan County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage

1868-1889 Georgia Pioneers

  • 1865-1895 - Bryan County Marriage Index 1865-1895. Batch M712232 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1866 - Bryan County Marriage Index 1866. Batch M712231 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1868-1895 - Bryan County Marriage Index 1868-1895. Batch M712233 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death
  • 1859-60, 1869-70 - Bryan County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($)
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bryan County, Georgia. Page 152 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 15. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 14,472 times.