Bryher, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Bryher, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


The Scilly Islands are comprised of Bryher, St. Agnes, St. Martin, St. Mary, and Tresco. 

Contents

Parish History

BREHAR, or Bryther, one of the Scilly island[s]; in the NW of the group, 21/2 miles NW of Hugh-Town. It is two miles long, rugged, wild, and high; and inhabited chiefly by firemen.[1]

Bryher is a peaceful little island, home to the smallest of all the communities that can be found on the isles of Scilly.

Neighboring Parishes

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bryher, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
Bryher, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1677-1794, 1800-1901
1677-1794
1677-1794, 1869-1885

Records for the Scilly Islands cover 1726-1960, these registers are kept at the County Record Office, County Hall, Truro TR1 3AY.

The Family History Library has microfilmed parish registers from 1726-1960. Microfilm numbers can be found at FamilySearch.

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch under Records. Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: 206.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241275.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary juisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Bryher, Isles of Scilly. [1] Accessed November 13, 2013.
  2. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 May 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,530 times.