Bubwith, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Bubwith

Guide to Bubwith, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bubwith, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Harthill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Howden PLU
Registration District Howden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1623
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harthill and Hull
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BUBWITH (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Howden, Holme-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, East Riding Yorkshire; consisting of the seven townships of Breighton with Gunby, Bubwith, Foggathorpe, Gribthorpe, Harlthorpe, Spaldington, and Willitoft. Church of England records began in 1623. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Bubwith exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
 BUBWITH PARISH (1600) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1795-1847 1795-1847
FREG 1600-1767 1600-1753 1600-1768
FS 1600-1901

1600-1900

1885-1901

JOIN None

1600-1753

None

NBI

1813-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

http://www.bubwith.net has an index and transcript of information to the census records for the years 1841, 1851, and 1881 for all individuals


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464218.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.


An index 1389-1688 to the Exchequer and Prerogative Court of York to Bubwith people is online.

An index 1326-1724 to the Court of The Dean and Chapter of York to Bubwith people is online.

An index 1226-1872 to wills in Yorkshire Archives is listed online.

An index 1383-1857 to Prerogative Court of Canterbury Wills is listed online

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 415-420. Adapted. Accessed November 7, 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 15 October 2014.
  3. 'Yorkshire East Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 20 October 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (East Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.

Bubwith.NET A One-Place Study of the parish of Bubwith This is a must see website for Bubwith records and indexed information on line for free.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 4,899 times.