Buchanan County, VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Virginia
Buchanan County
Guide to Buchanan County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
| Buchanan County, Virginia | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location in the state of Virginia | |
![]() Location of Virginia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | 1858 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Grundy |
| Courthouse | |
Buchanan County Virginia Courthouse
Buchanan County Courthouse
P.O. Box 929
Grundy, Virginia 24614
Phone: 540-935-6575
Courthouse burned in 1885
Clerk Circuit Cout has marriage, divorce,
probate, court and land records from 1885[1]
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1858 | 1858 | 1858 | 1860 | 1885 | 1874 |
Buchanan County Virginia History
The county was named after President James Buchanan (1791-1868), who was in office at the time of the county's formation.
Parent County
1858--Buchanan County was created 13 February 1858 from Russell and Tazewell Counties.
County seat: Grundy [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
The courthouse burned in 1885 and a flood in 1977 damaged many later records.[2][3]- Lost census: 1890
Buchanan County Virginia Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Buchanan County Virginia Genealogy Resources
Research Guides
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Buchanan County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 6, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1962):81-82. Digital version at American Ancestors ($).
African Americans
- Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
Bible Records
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
Cemeteries
For a more detailed description, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Buchanan County, Virginia Cemeteries.
The following is a list of cemeteries in Buchanan County: [4]
|
|
|
- Tombstone Transcription Project Buchanan County - cemetery transcriptions - USGenWeb
Census
For tips on accessing Buchanan County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1860 | 2,793 | — |
| 1870 | 3,777 | 35.2% |
| 1880 | 5,694 | 50.8% |
| 1890 | 5,867 | 3.0% |
| 1900 | 9,692 | 65.2% |
| 1910 | 12,334 | 27.3% |
| 1920 | 15,441 | 25.2% |
| 1930 | 16,740 | 8.4% |
| 1940 | 31,477 | 88.0% |
| 1950 | 35,748 | 13.6% |
| 1960 | 36,724 | 2.7% |
| 1970 | 32,071 | −12.7% |
| 1980 | 37,989 | 18.5% |
| 1990 | 31,333 | −17.5% |
| 2000 | 26,978 | −13.9% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
- Weaver, Jeffrey C. The 1860 Agriculture Ceneus [sic] of Buchanan County, Virginia. Clintwood, Virginia: Mullins Printing, 1992. Available at FHL.
1890 Union Veterans
- Turner, Ronald Ray. Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website. [Includes residents of this county.]
Church Records
Court Records
Genealogy
See Buchanan County, Virginia Genealogy
Land and Property
Local Histories
- Schwab, W.G. The Forests of Buchanan County, Virginia. Charlottesville, Va., 1918. Digital version at Google Books (full-view).
Maps
Military
War of 1812
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Buchanan County, p. 65.]
Civil War
Regiments. Service men in Buchanan County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Buchanan County, Virginia:
- - 2nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (State Line) (Confederate)
- - 2nd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry) (Confederate). Company D, likely Company I.
- - 4th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (State Line) (Confederate)
- - 7th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate)
- - 10th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate)
- - 14th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Companies C, F, G, H, and I
- - 21st Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate)
- - 22nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Bowen's Virginia Mounted Riflemen) (Confederate). Company B.
- - 29th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F.[5]
- - 34th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Witcher's Battalion, Virginia Mounted Rifles) (Confederate). Company C and Company E.[6]
- - 50th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate)
- - 51st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate)
- - 64th Regiment, Virginia Mounted Infantry (Confederate). Company F2.[7]
- - French's Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Confederate)
Records and histories are available, including:
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
Naturalization
- Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
Newspapers
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Buchanan County, Virginia newspapers.
Probate Records
Taxation
Vital Records
Indexes to Buchanan County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Death
Buchanan County, Virginia deaths are included in the Library of Virginia's Death Index of Virginia, 1853-1896, sponsored by The Virginia Genealogical Society, available online - free.
- Stewart, Jesse. Early Deaths, Buchanan County, Virginia, 1858-1896. [Grundy, Virginia: J. Stewart, 1990]. Available at FHL.
Vital Record Substitutes
| For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Buchanan County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Buchanan County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Buchanan Co., VAGenWeb. Part of the USGenWeb Project. Maps, name indexes, history.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Cyndi's List
Buchanan County Virginia Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Buchannon County, Virginia. Page 711 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Burned Record Counties (VA-NOTES). (n.d.). Library of Virginia. Retrieved 4 May 2012, from http://www.lva.virginia.gov/public/guides/va22_burnedco.htm.
- ↑ USGS Map, Topozone.com
- ↑ John Perry Alderman, 29th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 53.
- ↑ Scott C. Cole, 34th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 94.
- ↑ Jeffrey C. Weaver, 64th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 89.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 3 May 2013, at 20:51.
- This page has been accessed 6,028 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More





