Buchanan County, Virginia GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Has anyone studied my Buchanan County, Virginia Genealogy before?
More than a few family history books and articles have been published about Buchanan County's families.
- Main article: Buchanan County, Virginia
Contents |
Buchanan County, Virginia Genealogy Message Boards
| The Research Forums have been closed. For a limited time the Virginia Resource Forums will be available in read-only mode. |
- Buchanan County, VA Genealogy Forum, courtesy: GenForum. (0+ messages)
- Buchanan - Family History & Genealogy Message Board, courtesy: Ancestry. (0+ messages)
Buchanan County, Virginia Genealogy General Resources
As of November 2010, a query for individuals born in Buchanan, Virginia at World Connect, results in more than 35,000 entries.
Buchanan County, Virginia Surnames (courtesy: Linkpendium) contains links to more than a dozen online resources about this county's families, including compiled genealogies.
Compiled genealogies that treat multiple Buchanan County families include:
- Atkins, Oscar T. Buchanan County, Virginia, Families 1860. Williamson, West Virginia: East Kentucky/Southern W.Va. Family Records, 1997. FHL Collection ["Taken in part from the federal census of Buchanan County, Virginia, for 1860, ... and from tax lists, from other census records, marriage records, and from the library and files of the compiler."--T.p.]
- Sutherland, Elihu Jasper. Some Sandy Basin Characters. 1962; reprint, Clintwood, Va.: Hettie Sutherland, 1985. FHL Collection
Buchanan County, Virginia Genealogy Books and Articles
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
- [Colley] Boardman, Elizabeth Joye Mabe. Thomas Colley Family: Russell County, Virginia; Washington County, Virginia; Dickenson County, Virginia; Buchanan County, Virginia; Smyth County, Virginia. [Palm Coast, Florida]: J. Boardman, 2001. FHL Collection; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online
- [Cox] Large, Alice Cox. John Dawson and Arminta Stacy Cox and Related Families: Virginia, Kentucky, Washington. Atascadero, California: A.C. Large, 1995. FHL Collection
- [Fuller] Wilcox, Roxie Hammill. Some Fullers of Buchanan and Dickenson Counties in Virginia: And Their Descendants. Portland, Oregon: R.H. Wilcox, 1977. FHL Collection
- [Fuller] Stanley, Gayle Fuller. Mountain Legacy: 200 Hundred Year History of One Family Line in Southwest Virginia. Clinchco, Virginia: G.F. Stanley, 1996. FHL Collection
- [Looney] Looney, Carl. Sixty Years of Preaching and Pastoring: Adventures int he Ministry of an Appalachian Preacher.
- [Looney] Coler, Jack. Our Ratliff - Looney Heritage. Rogers, Arkansas: J. Coler, 1988. FHL Collection
- [Matney] Coler, Jack. Our Matney Heritage. [Rogers, Arkansas: J. Coler], 1988. FHL Collection
- [Owens] Owens, Jane E. Colton. Owens Family: and Related Families. San Diego, Calif.: J.B. Owens, 1989. FHL Collection
- [Stacy] See Cox.
References
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 7 January 2013, at 19:08.
- This page has been accessed 1,283 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

