Buckenham, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Buckenham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Buckenham, Norfolk
St Nicholas Buckenham.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blofield
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Blofield PLU
Registration District Blofield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1714
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Blofield
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Buckenham St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich and the deanery of Blofield. It should not be confused with Old Buckenham, Norfolk  New Buckenham, Norfolk in the diocese.

It has a rare 13th century octagonal tower.

The church was declared redundant in the 1970's suffered heavy vandalism until taken over by the Redundant Churches Trust who have taken care to restore some of the damage.

BUCKENHAM or BUCKENHAM-FERRY (St. Nicholas), a parish,in the union and hundred of Blofield, E. division ofNorfolk, 9 miles (E. S. E.) from Norwich; containing 60 inhabitants. The village is pleasantly situated on the river Yare, over which is a ferry.[1]

Church records

Buckenham, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[5]
Buckenham, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1880
1600-1812
1600-1812
FS ATs 1600-1814 1600-1814 1600-1814
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
TIN 1813-1880


This parish's registers do not appear at FamilySearch Historical Records as no microfilm for the parish is held. The Norfolk Record Office reference is PD 87/1-8
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content Film
Baptisms 1600-1609, 1623-1626, 1696-1709, 1726-1742 1765-1813 Marriages 1600-1609, 1702-1707, 1764-1811 Burials 1600-1608, 1623-1636, 1696-1709, 1732-1742 1767-1810 FHL BRITISH Film
1526737 Item 1

Known Issues

The  collection images at FamilySearch Historical Records are incorrectly named at present Buckenham but awaiting correction to read Old Buckenham after engineering. They do not refer to  Buckenham St Nicholas but Old Buckenham, Norfolk.

Civil Registration Districts

  • Blofield 1837-1938 
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich
  • Civil registration events post 1837 may be searched online Free BMD

Census records

 

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438849.

Probate Records

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes B

Poor Law Unions

  • For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Blofield/Blofield.shtml
  • The union consisted of the following parishes: Acle, Beighton, Blofield, Bradestone, Brundall, Buckenham Ferry, Burlingham St Andrew, Burlingham St Edmund, Burlingham St Peter, Cantley, Freethorpe, Halvergate, Hassingham, Hemblington, Limpenhoe, Lingwood, Moulton, Great Plumstead, Little Plumstead, Postwick, Ranworth with Panxworth, Reedham, Southwood, Strumpshaw, Thorpe St Andrew, Tunstall, Upton with Fishley, Walsham St Lawrence, Walsham St Mary, Wickhampton, Witton, Woodbastwick.
    Blofield Union was incorporated under the 1834 Act. The Union Workhouse was opened in 1836 at Lingwood. Blofield Union Board of Guardians was replaced by Guardians Committee No. 3 in 1930.
    Received by the Norfolk Record Office on 6 May 1971 (C/GP2/29) and on unknown dates.
  • Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Maps and Gazetteers

 Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


England Jurisdictions 1851
•Vision of Britain

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 415-420. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 February 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 11 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:25.
  • This page has been accessed 4,258 times.