Buckenham Parva, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NorfolkGotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes Gotoarrow.png Buckenham Parva

Guide to Buckenham Parva, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Buckenham Parva, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Grimshoe
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Swaffham PLU
Registration District Swaffham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1733; For more records see West Tofts
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cranwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BUCKENHAM PARVA or TOFTS (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Swaffham, hundred of Grimshoe, W. division of Norfolk, 6 miles (N. E.) from Brandon. [1]


Buckenham Parva or Buckenham Tofts St Andrew is an Ancient parish in the deanery of Swaffham and the Diocese of Norwich. It should not be confused with Buckenham, Norfolk  Old Buckenham, Norfolk New Buckenham, Norfolk in the same diocese.

The church fell into disuse and was lost.

The graveyard was discovered in the twentieth century. The land in this area was evacuated during the Second World War to form the Norfolk Military Training Area and is controlled by the Ministry of Defence.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Civil Registration Districts
  • Swaffham
  • registration events post 1837 may be searched online Free BMD

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers, 1733-1907 Church of England. Parish Church of West Tofts (Norfolk) 
Church of England. Parish Church of Buckenham-near-Tofts 

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms 1734-1904 Marriages 1735-1903 Banns 1760-1900 Burials 1733-1907 BRITISH 1526138 Items 13-20

At present the only Record Search images online are those for  Old Buckenham, Norfolk under a heading "Buckenham" This awaits future engineering for correction and Buckenham Parva (Buckenham Tofts) registers are not available online.

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438860.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438860.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 415-420. Date accessed: 12 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:33.
  • This page has been accessed 2,818 times.