Buckingham, Buckinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Buckingham, Buckinghamshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Buckingham, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Buckingham, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buckingham Borough
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Buckingham
Registration District Buckingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Buckingham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of Buckingham; Post-1845 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office


Parish History

BUCKINGHAM (St.Peter and St. Paul), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred and county of Buckingham, 17 miles (N. W.) from Aylesbury, and 57 (N. W. by W.)from London. There are places of worship for Independents, the Society of Friends, and Wesleyans.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241221.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Buckingham on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848) pp 415-420 Date Accessed and adapted 28 May 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 22:53.
  • This page has been accessed 2,254 times.