Buckland Monachorum, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngDevon Gotoarrow.pngDevon Parishes

Guide to Buckland Monachorum, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Buckland Monachorum, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Roborough
County Devon
Poor Law Union Tavistock PLU
Registration District Tavistock
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tamerton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BUCKLAND-MONACHORUM (Holy Trinity), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Tavistock, hundred of Roborough, Midland-Roborough and S. divisions of Devon, 4 miles (S. by E.) from Tavistock.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Buckland Monachorum, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Buckland Monachorum, Devon Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP
Undefined

IGI 1552-1778 1540-1753

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241319.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.


References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 420-424 Date accessed: 25 October 2013.
  2. 'Devon Parish Marriages,' FindMyPast, accessed 8 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:18.
  • This page has been accessed 2,531 times.