Buckland near Dover, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Buckland near Dover, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Buckland near Dover, Kent
Buckland St Andrew Kent.jpg
Buckland St Andrew Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bewsborough; Dover Town and Port
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dover PLU
Registration District Dover
Records begin
Parish registers: 1576
Bishop's Transcripts: 1565
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dover
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BUCKLAND-in-Dovor (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Dovor, hundred of Bewsborough, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 1¾ mile (N. W.) from Dovor. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]


Buckland in and near Dover is a village and civil parish which is within the borough and district of Dover Buckland Wikipedia

Buckland in Dover St Andrew is an Ancient Parish.

Buckland's Saxon church is mentioned in the Domesday Survey. In the 12th century this was replaced by St Andrew's ; rebuilt in the 14th century and extended in 1851 and 1880 at which time the 1700 hundred year old Yew tree had to be removed to it's present position in the centre of the church yard.

A map of the parish boundary showinng both churches in the parish St Andrew and St Nicholas is available at A church near you Buckland valley St Nicholas Church website

The Parish Church of St Andrew Buckland, Crabble Meadows, Dover has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building

Buckland in Dover is now merged with Dover for local government purposes although previously  a village adjacent to Dover.

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 463-469 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

A short history of the church Buckland St Andrew Dover

This parish should not be confused with the ruined church of Buckland, Kent near Faversham in the same county.

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dover Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Buckland near Dover, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks - free[5]
Buckland near Dover, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1577-1928; 1774-1813 (Banns) 1577-1928; 1774-1813 (Banns) 1577-1929 1577-1929
KOPC 1773-1813
1755-1837
1813-1837

Original records are deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives.

Buckland near Dover Workhouse registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[6]
Buckland near Dover Workhouse Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1855-1911 1855-1911

Census records

Census returns for Buckland (near Dover), 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901




Poor Law Unions

Dover Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 420-424. Date accessed: 8 July 2013. <fckLR>
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  5. Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.
  6. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 3,976 times.